Māori Ward 2020 (generalised)

This dataset is the definitive set of Māori ward boundaries for 2020 as defined by the territorial authorities and/or Local Government Commission but maintained by Stats NZ (the custodian). This version contains 68 categories.

The Local Electoral Act 2001 provides that Māori wards may be established in territorial authorities. The statutory provisions for establishing Māori wards are set out in sections 19Z to 19ZH of the Local Electoral Act 2001. The first Māori ward was established by representation review in 2019 and appears in the 2020 geographic boundaries released by Stats NZ. The first Māori ward to be created is Wairoa Māori ward (02901) in the Wairoa District. Māori ward boundaries are defined at meshblock level.

Names are provided with and without tohutō/macrons. The name field without macrons is suffixed ‘ascii’.

This generalised version has been simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.

Digital boundary data became freely available on 1 July 2007.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Author Stats NZ
Maintainer Stats NZ
Maintainer Email Stats NZ
Source https://datafinder.stats.govt.nz/layer/104265-maori-ward-2020-generalised/
Source Created 2019-11-29T02:57:34.261139Z
Source Modified 2020-01-30T00:24:00.050594Z
Language English
Spatial {"type": "MultiPolygon", "coordinates": [[[[165.97364377550252, -47.62012357870287], [165.97364377550252, -33.95849709963594], [180.0, -33.95849709963594], [180.0, -47.62012357870287], [165.97364377550252, -47.62012357870287]]], [[[-180.0, -33.95849709963594], [-175.3790471139039, -33.95849709963594], [-175.3790471139039, -47.62012357870287], [-180.0, -47.62012357870287], [-180.0, -33.95849709963594]]]]}
Source Identifier https://datafinder.stats.govt.nz/layer/104265-maori-ward-2020-generalised/
Dataset metadata created 2 February 2020, last updated 10 November 2022