Māori Electoral District 2007

Māori Electoral District 2007 is the definitive set of 2007 Māori electoral district boundaries as defined by the Representation Commission. Land Information New Zealand (LINZ) and Stats NZ are the custodians. These boundaries comprise the Māori electoral districts as constituted under the Electoral Act 1993. Māori electoral districts extend to the 12-mile limit and are defined at meshblock level. The number of Māori electoral districts, and Māori electoral populations for each electorate, are calculated using formula in the Electoral Act 1993. The Representation Commission is convened by the Surveyor-General every five years following a Census of Population and Dwellings, and Māori Electoral Option. Its role is to re-draw electoral boundaries to make sure each electorate has about the same number of people. When setting the boundaries, the Representation Commission also considers existing boundaries, community of interest (including iwi affiliations), the infrastructure that links communities (such as main roads), topographical features, and any projected variation in the population of those districts during their existence. Māori Electoral District is a flat classification 7 categories These boundaries were used for the 2008 and 2011 New Zealand general elections.

This layer has been generalised, i.e. simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Author Stats NZ
Maintainer Stats NZ
Maintainer Email Stats NZ
Source https://datafinder.stats.govt.nz/layer/104066-maori-electoral-district-2007/
Created 2019-10-15T00:25:22.477880Z
Date modified 2019-10-15T00:38:20.900381Z
Language English
Spatial {"type": "MultiPolygon", "coordinates": [[[[166.1386538556921, -47.7240465252392], [166.1386538556921, -33.95849710638058], [178.83620889899817, -33.95849710638058], [178.83620889899817, -47.7240465252392], [166.1386538556921, -47.7240465252392]]]]}
Source Identifier https://datafinder.stats.govt.nz/layer/104066-maori-electoral-district-2007/
Record created February 2, 2020, Last Updated October 10, 2020