Canterbury District Health Board

The Canterbury District Health Board (DHB) serves the areas under the control of seven territorial local authorities - Christchurch City, Ashburton, Banks Peninsula, Hurunui, Kaikoura, Selwyn and Waimakariri District Councils. In addition, it provides a number of services accessed by people of the wider South Island community and, in the case of spinal injuries, services patients coming from the South Island and the lower half of the North Island.

The Canterbury DHB also has contracts with a number of other South Island DHBs to either provide, manage, or give clinical leadership to a number of specialist services in their districts, including some mental health services.