Urban Area 2012 (clipped)

This dataset is the definitive set of urban area boundaries for 2012 as defined by Statistics New Zealand.

Urban areas are statistically defined areas with no administrative or legal basis. Urban area populations are defined internationally as towns with 1000 people or more.

There is a three part hierarchal sub-division of urban areas into:

  • Main Urban Areas
  • Secondary Urban Areas
  • Minor Urban Areas

There is a major review of urban areas approximately every 20 years. Minor alterations can also occur as a result of requests from territorial authorities, general public, government organisations and statistics New Zealand output needs.

As at 1st July 2007, Digital Boundary data became freely available.

This generalised version has been simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Author Stats NZ
Maintainer Stats NZ
Maintainer Email Stats NZ
Source https://datafinder.stats.govt.nz/layer/105704-urban-area-2012-clipped/
Source Created 2021-07-22T00:14:30.431270Z
Source Modified 2021-07-28T00:43:26.774875Z
Language English
Spatial {"type": "MultiPolygon", "coordinates": [[[[166.4261471224055, -47.28999354001729], [166.4261471224055, -33.95849715188127], [178.57724476543814, -33.95849715188127], [178.57724476543814, -47.28999354001729], [166.4261471224055, -47.28999354001729]]]]}
Source Identifier https://datafinder.stats.govt.nz/layer/105704-urban-area-2012-clipped/
Dataset metadata created 10 August 2021, last updated 10 September 2021