Territorial Authority 2019 (generalised)

This dataset is the definitive set of annually released territorial authority boundaries at 1 January 2019 as defined by the territorial authorities and/or Local Government Commission, and maintained by Stats NZ. A territorial authority is defined under the Local Government Act 2002 as a city or a district council. Territorial authorities are the second tier of local government in New Zealand, below regional councils.

Digital boundary data became freely available on 1 July 2007. This generalised version has been simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.

For further information see ANZLIC Metadata 2019 Territorial Authority attachment below.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Author Stats NZ
Maintainer Stats NZ
Maintainer Email Stats NZ
Source https://datafinder.stats.govt.nz/layer/98755-territorial-authority-2019-generalised/
Created 2018-12-02T22:55:46.409608Z
Date modified 2018-12-05T21:39:32.806710Z
Language English
Spatial {"type": "MultiPolygon", "coordinates": [[[[165.9736437501254, -47.620123575754604], [165.9736437501254, -33.95849709933265], [180.0, -33.95849709933265], [180.0, -47.620123575754604], [165.9736437501254, -47.620123575754604]]], [[[-180.0, -33.95849709933265], [-175.37904725942903, -33.95849709933265], [-175.37904725942903, -47.620123575754604], [-180.0, -47.620123575754604], [-180.0, -33.95849709933265]]]]}
Source Identifier https://datafinder.stats.govt.nz/layer/98755-territorial-authority-2019-generalised/
Record created December 7, 2018, Last Updated March 12, 2019