Road Hierarchy

There are four classifications of the roads within the roading hierarchy: a) Arterial Roads, b) Principal Roads c) Collector Roads d) Local Roads. Arterial Roads serve as direct links of strategic importance within the district and to the rest of New Zealand, are a significant element in the district economy, have access standards for permitted activities determined on the basis of strategic function and traffic volumes. Principal Roads are roads which serve as links of strategic importance within the district, are a significant element in the local economy, often serve as local roads. c) Collector Roads are roads which are locally preferred routes between or within areas of population or activity, complement arterials and principals but have property access as a higher priority, have standards suitable to the safety requirements of the traffic volume on each section. Local Roads are other roads servicing land use activities with standards appropriate for the traffic use.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Theme ["geospatial"]
Author Gisborne District Council
Maintainer GisborneDistrictCouncil
Maintainer Email GisborneDistrictCouncil
Source Created 2019-09-26T20:39:17.000Z
Source Modified 2019-09-26T20:49:46.579Z
Language English
Spatial { "type": "Polygon", "coordinates": [ [ [177.3158, -38.9917], [178.5327, -38.9917], [178.5327, -37.5278], [177.3158, -37.5278], [177.3158, -38.9917] ] ] }
Source Identifier
Dataset metadata created 3 September 2022, last updated 3 November 2022