Regional Council 2014 (clipped)

This dataset is the definitive set of regional council boundaries for 2014 as defined by the Local Government Commission and/or regional councils themselves but maintained by Statistics New Zealand (the custodian).

The regional council is the top tier of local government in New Zealand. There are 16 regional councils in New Zealand (defined by Part 1 of Schedule 2 of the Local Government Act 2002).

Regional councils are responsible for the administration of many environmental and transport matters such as land transport planning and harbour navigation and safety. Regional councils are defined at meshblock and area unit level.

As at 1st July 2007, Digital Boundary data became freely available.

This generalised version has been simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Author Stats NZ
Maintainer Stats NZ
Maintainer Email Stats NZ
Created 2021-07-28T20:32:05.580929Z
Date modified 2021-07-28T20:34:50.138782Z
Language English
Spatial {"type": "MultiPolygon", "coordinates": [[[[166.2620498575015, -47.223047891444764], [166.2620498575015, -34.3926290524929], [180.0, -34.3926290524929], [180.0, -47.223047891444764], [166.2620498575015, -47.223047891444764]]], [[[-180.0, -34.3926290524929], [-175.90572506891684, -34.3926290524929], [-175.90572506891684, -47.223047891444764], [-180.0, -47.223047891444764], [-180.0, -34.3926290524929]]]]}
Source Identifier
Record created August 10, 2021, Last Updated September 10, 2021