Physiographic Zones

Southland’s physiographic zones allow us to better understand why we have variations in water quality in different areas. Southland has been divided into nine different zones according to factors such as soil type, geology and topography. We can then target solutions to higher risk areas as opposed to a region-wide, generalised approach.  This layer was developed as part of the Water and Land 2020 & beyond project. For more information and to download the fact sheets visit

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Theme ["geospatial"]
Author Environment Southland
Maintainer Ingrid Darragh
Maintainer Email Ingrid Darragh
Created 2017-01-19T00:47:03.000Z
Date modified 2018-07-05T01:33:45.466Z
Language English
Spatial {"type": "Polygon", "coordinates": [[[166.2619, -47.3595], [169.4297, -47.3595], [169.4297, -44.1754], [166.2619, -44.1754], [166.2619, -47.3595]]]}
Source Identifier
Record created November 5, 2018, Last Updated November 5, 2018