General Electoral District 2007

General Electoral District 2007 is the definitive set of 2007 general electoral district boundaries as defined by the Representation Commission. Land Information New Zealand (LINZ) and Stats NZ are the custodians. These boundaries comprise the general electoral districts as constituted under the Electoral Act 1993. General electoral districts extend to the 12-mile limit and are defined at meshblock level. The number of general electoral districts, and electoral populations for each electorate, are calculated using formula in the Electoral Act 1993. The Representation Commission is convened by the Surveyor-General every five years following a Census of Population and Dwellings, and Māori Electoral Option. Its role is to re-draw electoral boundaries to make sure each electorate has about the same number of people. When setting the boundaries, the Representation Commission also considers existing boundaries, community of interest, the infrastructure that links communities (such as main roads), topographical features, and any projected variation in the population of those districts during their existence. General Electoral District is a flat classification with 63 categories. These boundaries were used for the 2008 and 2011 New Zealand general elections.

This layer has been generalised, i.e. simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Author Stats NZ
Maintainer Stats NZ
Maintainer Email Stats NZ
Created 2019-10-15T00:20:07.910047Z
Date modified 2019-10-15T00:38:40.158951Z
Language English
Spatial {"type": "MultiPolygon", "coordinates": [[[[166.1386538556921, -47.7240465252392], [166.1386538556921, -33.95849710638058], [178.83620889899817, -33.95849710638058], [178.83620889899817, -47.7240465252392], [166.1386538556921, -47.7240465252392]]]]}
Source Identifier
Record created February 2, 2020, Last Updated January 10, 2021