Constituency 2019 (generalised)

This dataset is the definitive set of annually released regional council constituency boundaries at 1 January 2019 as defined by the regional councils and/or Local Government Commission, and maintained by Stats NZ. Constituencies are established under the Local Electoral Act 2001 and result from the division of a region for electoral purposes. If a regional council decides to have a Māori constituency, the constituencies within the region are known as general constituencies and Māori constituencies. Constituencies are divisions of regional council areas. They are defined at meshblock level.

Digital boundary data became freely available on 1 July 2007. This generalised version has been simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.

For further information see ANZLIC Metadata 2019 Constituency attachment below.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Author Stats NZ
Maintainer Stats NZ
Maintainer Email Stats NZ
Created 2018-11-30T01:26:27.363967Z
Date modified 2019-05-02T02:09:50.778124Z
Language English
Spatial {"type": "MultiPolygon", "coordinates": [[[[165.9736437501254, -47.620123575754604], [165.9736437501254, -33.95849709933265], [180.0, -33.95849709933265], [180.0, -47.620123575754604], [165.9736437501254, -47.620123575754604]]], [[[-180.0, -33.95849709933265], [-175.37904725942903, -33.95849709933265], [-175.37904725942903, -47.620123575754604], [-180.0, -47.620123575754604], [-180.0, -33.95849709933265]]]]}
Source Identifier
Record created February 2, 2020, Last Updated July 10, 2021