Constituency 2018 Clipped (generalised)

This dataset is the definitive set of annually released regional council constituency boundaries at 1 January 2018, clipped to the coastline. This clipped version has been created for map creation/cartographic purposes and may not fully represent the official full extent boundaries. Constituencies are established under the Local Electoral Act 2001 and result from the division of a region for electoral purposes. If a regional council decides to have a Māori constituency, the constituencies within the region are known as general constituencies and Māori constituencies. Constituencies are divisions of regional council areas. They are defined at meshblock level.

Digital boundary data became freely available on 1 July 2007. This generalised version has been simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.

For further information see ANZLIC Metadata 2018 Constituency attachment below.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Author Stats NZ
Maintainer Stats NZ
Maintainer Email Stats NZ
Created 2017-12-01T01:15:36.870158Z
Date modified 2019-12-18T21:04:24.343365Z
Language English
Spatial {"type": "MultiPolygon", "coordinates": [[[[166.262032582203, -47.2230467564741], [166.262032582203, -34.12963464940258], [180.0, -34.12963464940258], [180.0, -47.2230467564741], [166.262032582203, -47.2230467564741]]], [[[-180.0, -34.12963464940258], [-175.9057255790719, -34.12963464940258], [-175.9057255790719, -47.2230467564741], [-180.0, -47.2230467564741], [-180.0, -34.12963464940258]]]]}
Source Identifier
Record created February 2, 2020, Last Updated June 10, 2021